top of page
  • Writer's pictureucfactiveminds

My Personal Experience With Quarantine

Staying at home and being in a confined space all by myself has never been something I’ve been good at. Due to COVID-19 and the stay-at-home order I’ve been forced to face my struggles head on.


I’ve dealt with my anorexia for over 8 years now but now that my distractions are gone I feel like I’m spiraling downward. This pandemic has left me without a job and financial struggles.


My time is now spent in my room fighting to get out of bed. I walk to the kitchen because I’m bored or hungry. I open the fridge and stare at what haunts me most. I’m going to be honest and tell you that I indulge. I eat. Something so normal and natural but so embarrassing for me to say.


The other day I walked through the store like a zombie. My eyes were blank as I found the aisle with the scales. I stood there fighting my urge but I lost. I haven’t weighed myself in over a year.


I got home, nervous and anxious. I pulled out the scale to weigh myself. Immediately after stepping on the scale I broke down. I knew I gained weight but that confirmed it. Seeing the number broke my heart into a million pieces.


Over the past few weeks I’ve learned so much about myself. The fact that I use everything as a distraction and how I have such a need to be busy. As we trek along in this time I’m going to focus on my mental health.


To me, everything is a learning experience. So in our troubles I am taking it as something to grow from. My message to you is that I hope with whatever you’re going through, I hope you take it and love it. Whether good or bad, love the experience and love how it makes you grow. Because you are exactly where you need to be.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page